Words

I am a  paradox to my generation.

An unfortunate contrast to the normalcy of the culture.

To speak “right” is labeled “white.”

Then I must be of a lighter hue.

Thinking lighter thoughts and moving to a different cue.

And as  the director of life yells action, my moves and words are merely a reaction.

An ode to trailblazers, who came before me.

Dr. King.

Thurgood Marshall.

Rosa Parks.

Made strides in civil rights so I can sit in parks.

Free at last from an old dichotomy of race.

Encouraged by their words and actions to better myself.

Enabled.

So as I Sit back and watch the cable, see the inner-city, listen to our music.

I’m shocked.

For the words that shape “us” are:

Bitches.

Hoes.

Sex.

Money.

Power.

Hood.

Ghetto.

Stupid.

Materialistic.

Nihilistic.

And you see, words speak volumes so “that shit is all the way turnt up”.

And we stay “lurnt” up, indoctrinated by the ignorance of the media.

Embracing what we are feed as our mentality.

us.

and so us Blacks are Entertained by Television. useless music. false needs painted for us by the media.

pandering to their each and every desire.

And as a result. we rape ourselves.

blaming the white man for our plight.

we enslave and denigrate our women.

back then it was water hoses that hit our skin.

Today we pour Ace of Spades.

We call it “ballin.”

And so this deception has us Stallin’

Refusing to embrace our birthright.

Which is far more that a black president.

Rather to be a resident amongst intellectuals.

Loyal fathers.

Engineers.

Leaders.

Innovators.

Respecting and loving our women.

So let these words marinate, and from you may they disseminate to others.

For words are powerful.

Four words will change you.

You. Have. Much. Value.

About Literarydimes

This blog is a reflection of me. My random thoughts and current happenings. Enjoy. Engage. React.
This entry was posted in Poems. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Words

  1. Norah says:

    I LOVE THIS!!! im loving the blog dude! keep it coming!

  2. Danny says:

    Well done, my friend. I particularly liked this line: “And as the director of life yells action, my moves and words are merely a reaction.”

    Us guys were talking last night about letting God fulfill his purpose in us moreso than us trying to seek out some purpose for ourselves. That’s easier said that done, but it is a good mindset to have.

Leave a Reply

