Arguments and Augmentations

” That’s freakin’ stupid!” I’ve been in this business for 20 years and you I’m telling you, you don’t sell off a position like that!” ” That guy is a freakin’ idiot!” No loyalty.” These are small, fragmented and censored blurps of conversations that I picked up behind the bass of my head phones. One of my bosses later told me to not to mind his conversations with my other boss.” That’s just how they do business.” Today was my first day at my new job. I am a broker- dealer trainee. And as the big cheese states “I’m in boot camp.” I’m studying this massive folder of information for the series 7 exam. Its a test I have to pass in order to attain my license. So from now until mid march, I’m being paid to study. The office is really cool. You have the institutional investors on one side of the office, and on the other side all the independent brokers. Every guy has their own style. Some like to walk around with the headsets, some are at the desk. To be honest, I couldn’t help but look at my watch at 11:15. It is the time I normally would be getting the marching orders at the restaurant: the vips, busing sections, information on soups of the day. Although I am very happy to be in my field, I will miss the people….and the croissants on Sunday; I love croissants. It took almost six months, but now I’m finally on track. Change can hurt a little, but change is good. Can’t help but be excited about the next few months ahead.

Peace

About Literarydimes

This blog is a reflection of me. My random thoughts and current happenings. Enjoy. Engage. React.
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

