Spoken Word Night

Yesterday  I performed a poem at an open mic. I’ve been talking about doing this for a while, so since I’m turning 30, I decided go ahead and give it a go. Never thought I would enjoy being on stage so much. This is the poem that I performed. There was some impromptu but overall this was what came out of my mouth.

 

 

“Now this is how you dress for an interview “.

“Sit Down and do your homework”.

“I’m so proud of you  “.

“Keep going son”.

“Apologize to your mother “.

“I love you”.

 

The Modern Day Man.

 

An anachronism.

 

I remember when my grandfather was dying . I sat down stairs at papas house with other men

My Father .

My Uncle .

Other men whom my papa’s life had touched.

One man spoke a phrase in kreyole.

I forgot how to say it but it pretty much meant “don’t soil my  name”. These words were spoken to him by papa when he was a young man.

.So through double translation, a singular command  was spoken into an atmosphere that felt palpable .

Respect .

There was a lot spoken throughout those days and nights as men prayed . waited . cried . These words meant something . They stuck to me.

And like a good meal on a Sunday afternoon ,they summoned sleep to my eyes and rest to my soul.

Peace.

of a pie, a sweet moment to reflect on his wisdom instead of his mortality.

A juxtaposition of lasting lessons fleeting the lips of temporal flesh

A man whose face spoke edicts and whose hands built dreams and beat away childish ways left words that spoke of a higher path. The road that now a days is less traveled . It’s direction, it’s sound lost in the fray of false masculinity .

So the modern day man stumbles .

Foraging for false gold. A harsh tone and heavy hand for the woman who won’t listen. Trying to hear his fathers voice with each misstep. Late nights spent with the boys instead of with his boy. Walking farther from a path of wisdom and understanding .

This cycle creates a cruel irony because as grown little boys search for themselves , we have women in search for them.

 

Everyone is searching for a man who doesn’t exist

Because way back when another man didn’t persist .

 

 

“Keep going son”.

“Make sure you open the door for her”

“That’s not how you talk to a woman”.

“Always keep your word”.

 

Respect who your are.

 

 

About Literarydimes

This blog is a reflection of me. My random thoughts and current happenings. Enjoy. Engage. React.
This entry was posted in Deep Stuff, Life, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

